Official complaint

Today was the best Valentine’s day ever.

Little J’s preschool organized parents time out between 4 to 8 so that we could celebrate the day of love. My husband had a class so I was left home alone. I napped. Then I ate cheese. It was marvelous.

Apparently Little J did not share the same enthusiasm about his evening. When I picked him up he got in the car and said:

‘Mommy this parent time out was not what I expected. There were no boys, just girls tonight. You know how girls are. All crazy about me, running behind me and bugging me. I had no peace and no time for myself. Then we did two art projects. Not one, but two. That was too much, I felt like I was in school, but without any boys. And then we watched a movie I did not like. It was all mushy and full of princesses. Lucky for me the pizza was tasty. But no dessert after dinner. Really I think you must tell Miss K that this time she did not win my heart with the party. Next time we need to check the schedule before you sign me up. If there are heart projects and pink, I am not going.’

He had some other complaints, but I tuned him out. Frankly he was killing my cheese buzz.

Five year olds are a tough crowd to please…

This entry was posted in The Great life and tagged , , .

21 Comments

  1. Rorybore February 14, 2013 at 21:59 #

    Twitter: rorybore
    omg this cracks me up because I didn’t have any chocolate in the house ( the hell?), but I do have the amazing cheese that I have been just eating slowly because the factory burned down 2 weeks ago – so now more cheese for awhile. and it’s so good it’s like candy. And well…..it is gone.
    was totally worth it.

    Sorry Little J had a sucky party. Monkey Boy got a smile and a Toy Story valentine from his crush and pretty sure he floated off the bus.
    Le sigh…..remember being 8 years old?
    meh, me neither.
    Rorybore recently posted..Happy Love Day!

  2. Alison February 14, 2013 at 22:21 #

    Twitter: AlisonSWLee
    Hahahahaha!! Soon, he’ll look back and regret he didn’t enjoy being the boy everyone wanted a piece of.

    I love the idea of a parent time out, brilliant.
    Alison recently posted..Putting Thought, Paying Mind, Present For, And Proud

  3. Diane February 14, 2013 at 22:21 #

    Twitter: dkotucker
    LOVE this!!! I have heard some of the best kid stories today and this was the icing on the cake.

    Not surprising all the girls are following him around. In another 10 years or so he won’t be complaining. Haha!
    Diane recently posted..Happy Heart Day!

  4. [email protected] February 15, 2013 at 00:51 #

    Well at least the pizza was tasty :)
    [email protected] recently posted..Do What You Can Do…Do Your Best

  5. [email protected] Mom February 15, 2013 at 04:36 #

    Twitter: copilotmom
    Sorry to hear that the party did not win his heart – at least there was pizza. (But napping and cheese sounds delightful!)
    [email protected] Mom recently posted..Thanks For Keeping It Real, Universe

  6. Southern Angel February 15, 2013 at 05:22 #

    BWHAHAHAH This cracked me up..
    Southern Angel recently posted..I get frustrated when.. FTSF

  7. Ally February 15, 2013 at 07:03 #

    Twitter: normalmomally
    I was cracking up reading this! He must have been so serious about his complaints, too. Thank goodness for tasty pizza! (and naps and cheese!)
    Ally recently posted..There’s Stuff Going On

  8. Clarinda February 15, 2013 at 07:15 #

    Twitter: EnjoytheCourse
    Sorry it killed your cheese buzz! đŸ˜€
    Clarinda recently posted..I LOVE..

  9. Kim Pugliano February 15, 2013 at 08:09 #

    Twitter: GisSilent
    I hate when it’s me and a bunch of hot guys. Poor Little J. Especially the NO DESSERT part. That’s just mean.
    Kim Pugliano recently posted..Something in her Eyes

  10. kathy February 15, 2013 at 08:48 #

    Nothing says Valentines like cheese…seriously! :)
    kathy recently posted..Made with love…

  11. lisacng February 15, 2013 at 11:12 #

    Twitter: lisacng
    Aw, J! LOL, ruining your cheese buzz. I think that he’ll wish girls were chasing him around when he’s a little bit older :).
    lisacng recently posted..Throwback Thursday: Valentine’s past

  12. Cindy Urban Pickering via Facebook February 15, 2013 at 11:47 #

    Next time Mommy, you better check the hearts situation! Boys do not like hearts unless they are in dead animals! Sorry, but it’s true. Boys love a dead animal. Just sayin’.

  13. Cindy Urban Pickering via Facebook February 15, 2013 at 11:47 #

    Next time Mommy, you better check the hearts situation! Boys do not like hearts unless they are in dead animals! Sorry, but it’s true. Boys love a dead animal. Just sayin’.

  14. Janice February 15, 2013 at 23:36 #

    Twitter: mommyslounge
    Hahaha! Ok, that’s it. I’m totally in love with your boy even more. He’s the darndest cutest thing ever. Wanna play matchmaker? I got 2 girls! Hehe.
    Janice recently posted..3 Going On 30

  15. Amanda February 16, 2013 at 15:03 #

    Twitter: lilahbility
    LOL, cheese buzz. You and your kid are too much! (Too much awesome, that is!) :)
    Amanda recently posted..The Upside of Threeness

  16. Anne LeBlanc February 17, 2013 at 16:43 #

    Twitter: littleredhens
    That was amazing. Seriously, so so cute. Did you not just want to gobble him up? Pink and princesses. Jeez Mom, it’s like a torture chamber of mushy stuff. xoxo

  17. Kelly Kardos February 17, 2013 at 18:32 #

    Lmao!!! Oh Stasha-your are a hoot!

  18. Liz February 19, 2013 at 20:17 #

    This is priceless!!
    I can just hear the conversation/complaint playing out. My sons would have felt exactly the same!!
    Don’t let him lose that cheese moment for you… sounds wonderful. Peace, solitude and a little indulgement – just what every Mumma needs! :)
    Liz recently posted..Skywatch Friday: Sunset at O’Reilly’s

  19. Rachel February 20, 2013 at 08:25 #

    Twitter: racheldrechsel
    Oh no he did not kill your cheese buzz. Unacceptable!

  20. Julia Spencer February 20, 2013 at 10:41 #

    LOL! It’s so funny when children say such things, and of course, the expression on their faces are always so serious and it’s difficult for parents not to show their smiles

    Julia Spencer’s recent post.. Catchy Facebook Pages of Top World-Known Brands

  21. Jenn February 20, 2013 at 16:19 #

    Twitter: librajenn
    OMG!! He’s the best. And I’m glad you got a good nap in.
    Jenn recently posted..Making Memories

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

CommentLuv badge